My Life: Becoming a freelance writer

Hello? Is this thing on?

If so, I would like to say hi and welcome you to my blog. And for those who have not heard from me in years, I would like to apologize. My life these past two years have been chaotic (and that’s keeping it simple). I went from home to home trying to find a place to call my own, changed job positions, and invested a significant amount of time and money on pursuing a Masters degree.

However, life happened and I am no longer in the right circumstances to continue.

I hope to share with you, in time, that chapter of my life. You’ll understand all of my struggles, my joys, and my pains. But for now, I would like to share something that I have not told my family. I am trying to find meaning in my life and in the process, I have decided to become a freelance writer. To tell you the truth, I don’t have a clue about what I am getting myself into, but that has never stopped me before.

When my guidance counselor told me that I would not go to a four-year college, I ended up graduating from San Francisco State University with a B.A. in Psychology and minor in Counseling. When all my other brother’s dropped out of school, I applied to a Masters program and got in. And I will continue to move forward regardless.

My stories aren’t too sophisticated (trust me, I know). Nor are they grammatically perfect (that is a creative choice). But they are honest (I promise). And that’s why I want to write and make a living out of it. I want to share my story and help at least one person get through the day. Or to make them laugh. Or cry. Or make them not feel alone.

And with that announcement, I would like some help from you.

I know this may alienate the people who read my blog, but I would appreciate any leads that can help in me becoming a freelance writer or at least a place where I can make a living sharing my stories.

Here is a list of some stories that show off my writing skills. I hope you all enjoy them! 🙂

Life: A Message To My Future Daughter

The Night My Life Changed: An Introduction

The Brother Who Left My Life

The First Sexual Encounter Of My Life

I know it’s a long shot, but it’s an attempt. Hopefully someone out there can hear me. Thank you.

 

Sincerely,

EDDY

 

 

21 thoughts on “My Life: Becoming a freelance writer

  1. Hello hello! I just got the notification that you liked my most recent post, so I’d like to say thank you for that. As a small blogger, it’s nice to get a little attention. Also, although I just discovered your blog,I really really love it. I’ve been working towards becoming a freelance writer as well, so I can relate. Anyways, have a nice day, lovely writing, and thank you for noticing me!

    • You’re very welcome! And thank you. I am glad you like my blog. I know how it feels to get that notification and know that someone out there is listening. I only read your “Update” post and am looking forward to reading your previous posts. From the looks of it, you are very talented in terms of writing, learning sign language quickly, and being in a band (pretty cool to me). Anyways, thank you for taking to time to reply. Hope to hear from you again 🙂

  2. Yay! Your writings are beautiful. Also, thank you for reading and liking what i wrote. For me, writing is conversing with people without saying a thing.
    I wish for you a great day and happy writing, always. Much love.

  3. I see I’m not the only one who heard you. Nice to meet you.
    The best way to get readers is to get on that Reader page, type in a few Tags of subjects that interest you and find those people.
    Best of luck to you!

  4. I did some research on freelance writing when I was looking for supplemental income while staying home with my kids. It didn’t really pan out for me, but you’re on the right track.

    Building a portfolio is what everyone stressed, and having a niche audience was second. With your education in psychology and counseling, you could probably find an audience more than willing to lend an ear. Plus, your already blogging, so you’re portfolio is building itself!

    Good luck to you, Eddy, and I appreciate your interest in my post earlier. It means more to me than you think.

    • Awe, I’m sorry that it didn’t pan out for you. May I ask what type of research you did? Back when I first started, I wrote personal stories which garnered attention from people from different countries. However, I stopped and I am now trying to start up again. Hopefully I can get back the same audience. The difficulty, for me, lies in how can I make a living as a freelance writer. And you’re welcome. I can relate a lot to your posts. Even the short ones! :)?

      • I really just wanted to know how to get started, but the issues I knew how to tackle weren’t as widespread as I thought!

        It did seem that making a living took a bit of luck for publications to keep you on retainer, as that was what I was really looking for. It also didn’t help that i was pursuing a degree in mechanical engineering, which has absolutely nothing to do with writing!

  5. Hey, Eddy! I would like to thank you for visiting my blog! I have no clue whatsoever about what I’m doing over there but I’m doing anyway so it makes me happy to see at least someone reading it!

    And I can relate very easily when you say you’re trying to find meaning in life (is it equally hard for you too?). I guess no matter where we are in life, we never really stop searching for it.

    Also, I want to say that I read some of your old posts and they are all very nice and honest and thoughtful! I loved it! I hope you can thrive and find the meaning you search for by being a freelance writer. Sadly I have no knowledge about the freelance writing market so I can’t really help (I’m also not from the US). If I end up seeing something about it around, though, I will let you know!
    I wish you all the luck!

    Bia

    • Hello Bia,

      Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. I’m glad you are doing something that makes you happy. Yes, I have read some of your posts. Hope you continue to pursue writing that novel of yours. I’m sure it will be great.

      Yay! You read some of my older posts. People tend to read the most current one, but I do like some of the older stuff that I wrote.

      Anyway, I hope you have a wonderful evening.

      Eddy

  6. Hello! I came over after you liked one of my posts and after reading this, I’m going to follow you and keep track of your progress! Becoming a freelance writer is one of those dreams for me (however I don’t feel brave enough to go after it just yet – still working on “getting myself out there” so to speak) and I, too, would like to meet more people in a similar situation, so hi! 😀

  7. I just love the way you express your feelings,something i can never do as well as you,maybe it just comes with hardships and experiences in life.Looking forward to read more of your articles. 😊 Keep going!

Leave a Reply

