The Night My Life Changed: The Meet Up

I received a message from him around midnight. I had never been the one to get a message from a guy first, so I was a bit skeptical. Why would someone want to take the time to get to know me?

Regardless, I read his profile description. “ibangsmurfs” was his username. I couldn’t help, but smile.  At least he had a sense of humor. He was white, 5’10”, 160lbs, and single. Perfect, I thought. I stared at his profile picture a few times to make sure he was real. The picture was of him standing and smiling in front of a fountain. He looked cute. I messaged him and asked what he was looking for and if he had anymore pictures of himself. He immediately replied, emailing me pictures of himself in what seemed to be graduation photos, and telling me that he wanted to meet me. He looked gorgeous. And what a smile. I gave him my fake number and told him to meet me at a school parking lot by my house and to my surprise, he said he would be there in fifteen minutes.

I closed my laptop and waited nervously outside my house. Those fifteen minutes felt like an hour to me.

Immediately, I realized that I never sent him a picture of myself. I began to think how he would react to seeing me in person. I mean, I wasn’t a handsome person to look at. And what if I said the wrong thing and ruined our encounter? I was always awkward when it came to meeting guys for the first time, so there was no doubt in my mind that I would ruin this too. Especially since he seemed to good to be true. And what if he didn’t find me attractive in person? Would he just drive away and leave me there, all alone? I became more nervous.

The night was cold, but I noticed that my head was sweating, my heart was racing, and I had a hard time keeping my hands from trembling. This was usually the case before every hookup.

I looked at my watch to check the time. Only five minutes had passed. To forget the time, I looked at his picture again. Why would he want anything to do with me? He was way out of my league. What did I have to offer? I didn’t work and I still lived with my parents. Maybe I wouldn’t live up to his expectations.

I looked around to see any sign of him. Nothing.

I sent him a text asking how long it would be until he arrived. He replied with”soon.” Cars drove by, but continued past the school. Maybe I scared him off. I mean, it wouldn’t be the first time. As I stood there in self-depreciation. He sent a text. “Here.”

I looked up and saw his car parked on the other side of the parking lot.  Slowly, I started walking toward him, making sure my family didn’t hear my footsteps as I stepped on the dirt, all while my heart kept beating fast at the thought of meeting him.

As I got closer, I could see his face through his car window. Funny, he looked more nervous than me.

I tried to walk straight in order for him to not see my abnormal walk. Something I was always self-conscious about. I guess, I just didn’t want him to see any of my flaws. At least, not yet.

I finally made it to his car. It’s now or never, I told myself. I took a deep breathe and opened the door. I saw him and he smiled back.

“Hi,” I said, “I’m Eddy.”

This is the second chapter of an encounter that changed my life. Click the link if you want to read the first part of the story. Enjoy. The Night My Life Changed: An Introduction

Leave a Reply

