The Night My Life Changed: An Introduction

So it began. The night that turned everything in my life around. I don’t know how it happened, but in some strange way, I kind of anticipated it. I don’t know how to describe it. It’s the kind of feeling you get when you’re walking home on a quiet night after a long day of doing good and you suddenly stop, look at the stars, and you can’t help but smile. Or when you’re wandering around a big city during the peak hours of the day and you can’t help but feel like you belong. You feel good and anticipate more. I was once told that in life, the things that make an impact in our lives will randomly come. They will hit hard. And maybe, just maybe, they will last a life time. I’m sorry to say that this event didn’t last a life time.

Ten days earlier, I had spent my 21st birthday alone in my room. I don’t know why. I had a lot to celebrate. I was going  to graduate with my AA degree in a few days, move to San Francisco in a few months, and live the college life for two whole years. But none of that mattered. My birthday hadn’t meant anything to anyone in such a long time. I wished myself a happy birthday and continued on with my life.

The impact of being 21 wouldn’t register until months later, for now, I was back to my daily routine of finding potential friends online. For every ten messages I sent, I would get a reply from one or two guys. The rejection was brutally painful and the process dangerously lonely.

To be honest, I had no idea of who I would talk to that night. I was only trying to cure my boredom. It’s surprising how a single message could change your life, but that’s what happened. I mean, I didn’t know it in that instance. And I guess that’s what made his appearance into my life that more special.

15 thoughts on “The Night My Life Changed: An Introduction

  1. Beautifully written, Eddy. It is so good to hear from you again. It sounds like you are swinging life by the tail, engaing it head on. You roll with the punches and bounce back. I send you peace.

    Rita

  2. I love the way you write! You could be an author one day, honestly. I just wanted to continuing reading. But it had that good effect of short but sweet. It’s sad that you spent your 21st on your own. But PLEASE TELL US WHAT HAPPENS NEXT! 🙂

  3. As a mother would say to her beautiful son, “Find you, be you, LOVE you and allow the rest to follow.” Send sunshine to as many people as you can find and the light will fill you in ways you cannot imagine. One day, all you have been searching for will sit before you. You are worthy and many are not worthy of you.

  4. 9001unwanted says:

    Great read! I definitely relate to the “birthday party”. To this day I am uncomfortable celebrating anything on mine.

  5. Thanks for liking my last post Eddy. I must say having read this post I get those feelings occasionally too, it is as if we realise how precious life is, we are and how we are a part of it all. It is a good feeling.

    Shirley Anne x

Leave a Reply

