The Humor In My Life

People say I’m serious and shy, and they’re probably right. I blame that on my shy nature. I’m not really a funny person, but I do have a a sense of humor. Too much if you ask me (go ahead, ask). I laugh at most jokes, sarcastic remarks, or funny stories that people make. I don’t laugh to make people feel better; I laugh because I really do think those things are funny.

And I’m the worst when it comes to laughing. I don’t just laugh; I snort! I also tend to run out of breathe or tear up when I think something is hilarious. Some people look at me funny when that happens, so I get embarrassed and stop laughing, but I rethink of the funny comment a few minutes later and laugh out loud again. I can’t help that I still find certain knock-knock jokes funny. Sometimes I wish I could be the one who makes people laugh.

I’m too soft-spoken to be funny and my monotone voice doesn’t help me either. People interpret this as me being serious and I don’t like it. To be honest, I don’t take life too seriously and you will know that if you truly get to be my friend. What can I say? I’m a kid at heart, scratch that, I’m a teenager at heart. My jokes consist of sexual innuendos or sarcastic remarks; just like most conversations of adolescents. Being gay makes the sexual jokes a bit more fun to tell (I can go on-and-on about how much I love bananas and white meat, I really do). I guess the only people who laugh at my funny stories are my close-friends. At least, I hope they laugh with me.

That’s the thing about me. I laugh at myself far too much. Sometimes to mask my insecurities or fears, but most of the time I do this because I see the humor in my life. I’m a young gay Latino who has little experience with the outside world and can be naive and gullible, and I find that kind of funny. If I tried to tell you a funny story though, I would laugh before I finish (yeah, I’m that type of person). You would probably laugh awkwardly because you feel bad, but I wouldn’t mind. That face you make will be worth the time. I also make funny faces whenever I’m video chatting with my friends (it’s quite embarrassing). But I find that funny and I start to laugh for some odd reason.

At the end of the day, I’m a person who likes to laugh. Because why not? Sometimes we need a bit of laughter after having a crummy day. A day like when you were excited to hang out with your friends and they cancel on you, so you feel sad and decide to write a post about your sense of humor, and you find that you were smiling throughout because you realize that your sense of humor is what helps you feel happy, and then you can’t help but laugh.

15 thoughts on “The Humor In My Life

  1. My sense of humor tends to be dry, unless I douse it with gin. It then becomes quite juicy. I try not drink anymore, hope my humor stays dry!

    I’ve always gotten a kick out of people that snorted as they laughed.

    Well written Eddy!

    • Haha. You’re just like my best friend who can’t help but make a face whenever we walk past a mirror. I smiled after reading your comment. Thank you πŸ™‚

  2. I can completely relate; I am a teenager at heart with sarcasm and sexual innuendos – it is the most fun! People who laugh before they tell their joke kill me, I start laughing with them and I did not even hear the joke yet.

    Live and laugh! Without laughter my…our world would be dismal.

    • I guess my jokes formed from not having much sexual experiences as a teenager and the only way to relate to sex came from making sexual innuendos. Who knows. Oh gosh. I can relate about to laughing before the joke finishes. I’m laughing. I hope to be truly living one day.

      • Not much sexual experience as a teen is better than a lot of sexual experience, you’ll have to just trust me on that. Do you think you would be less shy and more open now if there had been a group/activities and open welcome from your school, parents and peers when you were a teen?

  3. monkeybrainsync says:

    You wrote — “A day like when you were excited to hang out with your friends and they cancel on you, so you feel sad and decide to write a post about your sense of humor, and you find that you were smiling throughout because you realize that your sense of humor is what helps you feel happy, and then you can’t help but laugh.”

    That’s exactly how I have felt and actually, not so long ago and without a doubt, humor is what has gotten me through not only that subtle moment in my life, but a few others scattered here and there before then and truth be told, humor has NEVER let me down or left me stranded. Thanks for the blog posting!

Leave a Reply

