My Life In Blog

Hello. You may be wondering what type of blog this will be or who I am. To be honest, I’m trying to figure out the same thing. I will start by saying that my name is Eddy and I currently graduated from San Francisco State University.

I do not know what type of blog this will be, but in time you will know my secrets, my story, how I arrived at this point, and where I will go from here. It’s pretty interesting stuff to be honest. I would have never expected to be telling you about myself, but there were always times were I wanted to document my life and this is the perfect opportunity. My life in blog.

A bit about myself: I am from Orange County; I like the beach, sunny weather, going to the bars, and taking hour long walks to different locations. I consider myself average in most aspects of life and I learned that this should be something to be proud of being. Not all people are average, so I am happy that I am. Many people describe me as a shy person, and I agree with them. To be honest, I am surprised that I managed to make friends in the first place. I have a small vocabulary, so expect to see many repeated words. I ramble about insignificant stories that happen to me throughout the day and many people find this boring. I tend to over-analyze situations that should not be analyzed. I contradict myself far too often. I am socially awkward, but pretty social with friends.

Now that you know a bit about myself, I hope you do not judge too harshly. This is a blog about my life and everybody in it should remain anonymous except for myself. I forgot to mention that I am gay. Yeah, that changes things up a bit and makes things a lot more interesting doesn’t it. I come from a Mexican family that doesn’t think neither good nor bad of gay identifying individuals. I “came out” to my parents November 2012 and I received mixed reactions (seems like I am doing a movie review I know). My Β brothers had a better reaction. They support me 100 percent although we do not talk about gay issues or my relationships. I find it kind of funny how I am still hiding a part of me even though they said that they were fine with me being gay. I think they just do not know how to react, so they chose to say that they were okay. I do not judge them; I am trying to figure myself and I should not expect them to know everything about me. My family is pretty private. We do not talk about family issues to strangers, and I am sure they will get upset if they ever saw this blog. I have written too much to stop.

There. You now have some information about my life. Please try not to be too judgmental. I hope you have a wonderful day.

26 thoughts on “My Life In Blog

  1. Eddy, my dear, I like you. Not because we’re Latinos. Not because you’re gay. I like you because you are so beautifully honest about being lost and unsure. I have been there so many times. I salute your bravery. Que Dios te bendiga. Monica

    • Thank you Monica. I’m just trying to be honest with myself. Comments like yours make me realize that I’m not the only person who has gone through these feelings of uncertainty, so thank you.

      • You are very welcome my dear. Please remember that many people feel that they must figure everything out all at once. That’s bullshit. Absolute certainty is rare. Wise people know this. Take care of what you can and realize you’re human not a machine. Smart people know when to ask for help.

  2. Coming out of the closet is rarely a pleasant experience, but once it’s done, the liberation is divine! Glad I got to know a little about you through your post! (I used to live within walking distance of SFSU!)

    • Wow. Did you also go to SFSU? Yes, I have felt so much more like myself after coming out to my friends and family. By the way I like your New Orleans posts. Part 15 was a great read and a tease.

  3. What a charming blog. At least this entry certainly is. Naturally, having been charmed, I’m bound to continue reading. This, I must blame on you. I hope you’re happy.
    I remember, I can’t say fondly, my coming out. Though admittedly, I didn’t come out till I surrounded myself with friends who were rainbow friendly. 😏

    • Thank you. I’m sorry for charming you, but I do hope you continue reading. As for being happy, at this moment I am. I first had to build a network of gay friends before I came out to my family.

    • I usually take a long time to type a sentence, but that one came out randomly and I decided to keep it because I found that it held so much truth.

  4. Hi Eddy. I’m Jan, 23, Filipino living in the Philippines and, am also gay. Somehow I can relate to your story. Keep writing! You’re a good writer. Looking forward to your future posts. πŸ™‚

  5. “I consider myself average in most aspects of life and I learned that this should be something to be proud of being. Not all people are average, so I am happy that I am. Many people describe me as a shy person, and I agree with them. To be honest, I am surprised that I managed to make friends in the first place. I have a small vocabulary, so expect to see many repeated words. I ramble about insignificant stories that happen to me throughout the day and many people find this boring. I tend to over-analyze situations that should not be analyzed. I contradict myself far too often. I am socially awkward, but pretty social with friends.”
    I’m convinced you are the male version of me! Haha. – Sher

Leave a Reply

